Holland College performance hall filled with music

screen-shot-2016-10-05-at-5-27-32-pm
Anya Smith singing one of her songs at the first annual noon showcase of the semester, at the Florence Simmons Performance Hall. Cameron Lynch photo

By Cameron Lynch

Sept. 30, 2016

Holland College hosted its first Thursday Noon Showcase of the semester at the Florence Simmons Performance Hall on Sept. 29.

Anya Smith performed first with original songs she wrote.

She draws her inspiration from her day-to-day life, and other personal experiences along with her parents support she said.

“My parents were pretty free with my career choice. They always trusted me to make the best decisions.”

The most important thing to remember when you’re about to perform is to practice, she said.

“The one thing is to practise, there’s no way to avoid that, practice is the key and don’t get discouraged.”

The 23-year-old is a second-year music performance student at Holland College from Charlottetown.

Victor Chavez performed second with an opera performance to remember.

“There has to be a connection with the audience and a connection the music at the same time.”

This was Chavez’s first performance in Charlottetown and he was nervous.

“I think I did really good. for my first time here I thought that I would forget the lyrics.”

Once he gets on stage, his nervousness leaves as he starts singing, he said.

“Once I’m onstage it’s like I’m embracing the audience with my music. It feels good. It’s just nice.”

The 23-year-old is a first-year music performance student at Holland College.

Michael O’Grady attended the noon showcase and enjoyed the talent Holland College had to offer.

“I personally enjoy sitting back because lunches are busy for me, so it’s good to sit back and relax for an hour.”

O’Grady is also happy with how far the performance hall has come. Only a few years ago the whole area was a gym.

“I can still remember when the hall was once a gym and performances were held in the cafeteria.”

There is a way to sign up

“It’s every Thursday afternoon, Sheren Keller and Gaylene Carragher coordinate the events.”

O’Grady is the vice president of innovation, enterprise and strategic development at Holland College.

