Grant, Foy win top student awards

By Cameron Lynch

April. 12, 2016

Trey Grant was awarded Holland College’s Male Athlete of the Year award at the end of year athletic banquet, April 7 in the CCE building.

Grant was emotional while receiving his award. He said his hard work helped him get there.

“I was highly anticipating it because of all the hard work I put in.”

Grant was also happy to have all of his teammates in attendance.

“I have to credit my teammates. If it wasn’t for them I wouldn’t be here, it just wouldn’t have been as special.”

He also said he struggled.

“I owe this to my mom. She was the main one there for me when I was battling my injury. She was my nurse and motivator.”

 

Before Holland College Grant was in Pensacola, Fla., attending Pensacola State.

CL award
Trey Grant, left, accepts the Holland College male athlete of the year award from Albert Roche. Cameron Lynch photo

Grant was about to play his first college game until he got hurt, suffering from a knee injury. He did not play his freshman year or the year after.

“The doctor told me I would never play ball again.”

But he beat the odds and proved that he is the male athlete of the year.

The 23-year-old is a second-year sports and leisure student at Holland College from Nassau, Bahamas.

Sydney Foy was awarded the female athlete of the year award at the banquet. The volleyball player could not be reached for comment.

But basketball teammate Chidi Majok did give his thoughts on Grant’s award.

“The whole basketball team knew he was going to win the award just his attitude and his passion and how hard he works everyday. There is not another person more deserving than him.”

Majok also said Grant is a good person

“He’ll sit down and talk to you and he’s almost always in a good mood I’m going to miss playing with him next year.”

Majok is a first-year sports and leisure student At Holland College and he is from London Ontario.

Trey Grant receives his award from albert Roche in the CCE gym . Cameron Lynch photo

Sydney Foy receives her award from Albert Roche during the

Holland College awards banquit April 7. Cameron Lynch photo.

 

