Blue Monday stirs emotions at Holland College

By Letre Sweeting

Jan. 25, 2016

 

Tracey Campbell said she understands that people have depression based on seasons.

The accommodations manager at Holland College has an aunt who suffers from Seasonal Affective Disorder or SAD.

SAD is a type of depression that people suffer from based on the time of year. Blue Monday, typically Jan. 25 each year, is reported to be the saddest day of the year.

This Blue Monday, Campbell is staying positive.

“ Today has been so hard and hectic, so I actually feel powerful, because I got a lot done today.”

LS blue monday
Tracey Campbell 

Music helps her stay positive, said Campbell.

“I find music very powerful. It really can change my whole mood. I have a strong connection to my emotions and music.”

Many students at Holland College agree with Campbell and have their own ways of staying positive today.

Culinary Arts student Sarah Runions enjoys listening to her favourite song.

“A song that makes me feel happy is Free Fallin’ by John Mayer. It’s just calming.”

Culinary Arts student Greer Guest likes reading.

“ To feel happy I usually read a book whether it’s online or not. Anything I can get my hands on.”

Rex Charlton is an International Hospitality Management student. He said others are the key to his happiness.

“I talk to people to make myself feel happy.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

