Finding jobs after school

 

By AJ MacLeod

March 1, 2016

Geordie Carragher knew from a young age he wanted work in sports journalism.

He spent four years at UPEI studying business. He took a break halfway through and went to Holland College to study journalism.

Carragher spoke to the first-year journalism students Jan. 25 about what to expect when they head out on their first internship in March and how to find a job after school.

“Sometimes, if you’re really liked while you’re at your internship, they’ll offer you a position for the summer and that’s a great way to get your foot in the door.”

Jamie Yazdani agrees.

He took the welding course at Holland College in Georgetown four years ago. Finding work wasn’t exactly what he thought it would be, Yazdani said.

After he wrote his first block of his Red Seal, he went out on a one-year internship with Linkletter’s Welding in Bedeque, P.E.I. A Red Seal certificate allows somebody to work in his or her trade anywhere in the world. It is internationally known and respected.

“After my one-year internship with Linkletter, they asked me if I would be interested in doing another year-long internship after my second year at school, I knew that I made a lasting impression on those guys.”

Yazdani went out to Ft. McMurray, Alberta after his second internship, where he worked for two years before moving home.

“I knew that I would have better luck finding a job and getting some experience out there than I would here on P.E.I., so I travelled out there and made the most of it.”

Meanwhile, Carragher went to Centennial College in Toronto to study sports journalism after graduating from Holland College and UPEI.

“I had an amazing time at Centennial. We were lucky enough to travel down to Florida to watch and report on the Toronto Blue Jays during their spring training.”

Once Carragher graduated from there, he worked for a Toronto radio station for just over a year.

After that, he applied for the position of sports information officer at the University of Northern British Columbia and hoped for the best.

“Once I read all the qualifications for the job I thought ‘I could totally do this,’ so I applied for it with hopeful intensions on getting it.”

After an interview via Skype, Carragher felt confident. The next day, he received a phone call offering him the position. He accepted.

 

