P.E.I. family’s late flight, suicide bombing, set off frantic search

By Harun Sadat

Jan. 22, 2016

Said Syfurahman Fazli was frantic when he heard a suicide bomber killed himself near the Kabul airport on Jan. 4th.

Fazli’s daughter and two grandchildren were supposed to arrive that day from P.E.I.

“I didn’t know what to think. I rushed to the scene as fast as I could and asked one of the police officers I knew if there were any injured, or God-forbid, dead.”

Then he rushed over to one of the airport security guards and asked if his daughter’s flight had arrived. No, all flights were cancelled. Fazli started to cry.

“People here are very vicious if they see westerners, especially after situations like these, they attack them, so I was glad they haven’t arrived.”

He went back home to tell his wife.

“She was waiting at the door for me to come back, tears falling from her eyes and a scared look. She looked directly into my eyes through the window of my car with her eyebrows cringing and I smiled at her.”

Akbar Sadat, Fazli’s son-in-law, had stayed in Canada and was worried when he heard the news. He didn’t know his wife’s flight had been cancelled, so he kept calling her.

“I called several times, but there was no answer. I got very worried. I was pacing up and down my hallway trying everything not to freak out.”

Finally, he reached her.

“I was so happy. I busted laughing and shouted WOO-HOO. My wife thought I was crazy. Well, she always thought this, but now this confirmed it for her,” he said, giggling.

He had stayed back to look after his two older girls and to take care of financial matters.

His wife’s flight was a three-stop trip: from P.E.I. to Toronto, from Toronto to Turkey, and from Turkey to Afghanistan. Plus, there was transfer from one plane to another with a tight connection, so it was hard to keep in touch.

The plane from Toronto to Turkey arrived one-hour late and left one hour late. So, when they arrived in Turkey, their tickets had to change and they had to wait 12 hours in the airport.

When Sara Sadat and her two kids arrived in Afghanistan the next day, Fazli and his wife were there to see their daughter after 13 years with open arms, relief and happy tears.

