‘The guy passed me with half a kilometre left. I was a little heart broken.’

By Millicent McKay

Oct. 20, 2015

A Halifax runner was the first to cross the finish line to claim first place at the Prince Edward Island Marathon on Oct. 18.

Mike MacKinnon, a P.E.I. man and veteran marathoner, came in second finishing just pacing behind the first place runner.

“The guy passed me with half a kilometre left. I was a little heart broken, but it is tough when the half-marathoners are running too because you’re up on them, but you have no idea who is behind you so someone can sneak up and take you.”

MacKinnon said it was a rough day weather-wise, but it was nice because there was still a big crowd who came out.

MacKinnon, who started running marathons at 29, said he hasn’t run one in two years, but wanted to get back on the scene.

“I wanted to come back and run at 2:40 time, and the conditions today, I’m not sure what time it was because the half-marathon time is up but I didn’t stop [my watch], but I know I’m right around there… I’m very pleased.”

He said it was funny; he was trying to pick out something to wear.

“I mean there was rain, sleet, hail, there was wind… welcome to P.E.I.”

But he was comfortable the whole way.

Thomas Francis, 6, hugs his mother Brandy after she completed P.E.I. half marathon in 1:59:26 Oct. 18 in downtown Charlottetown. Millicent McKay photo
Thomas Francis, 6, hugs his mother Brandy after she completed P.E.I. half marathon in 1:59:26 Oct. 18 in downtown Charlottetown. Millicent McKay photo

Mother-daughter duo, Marta and Cori Irvine, ran the 10-kilometre event, saying physical health is very important.

“I love to run, I run it every year, but this year I ran it with my daughter.”

Marta said they drove from Summerside where it was really pouring and they were afraid it would keep up, but luckily it turned into a nice day.

“People are great. They cheer you on, and we’re having fun, despite the weather. It’s a great atmosphere.”

Cori, who is home on fall reading week from McMaster University, said the first three kilometres were the hardest. She said she wasn’t necessarily happy to run while doing it but she was glad she completed it.

“It’s worth it in the end.”

Marta says for those who want to come out and run to just give it a try.

“You can do it!”

