Christian Heritage candidate steps into Cardigan race

By Ernesto Carranza

Sept. 23, 2015

Christene Squires threw her hat into the federal election on Sept. 16 running on the Christian Heritage Party platform.

Squires is running for in the riding of Cardigan, on that has been held by Liberal MacAulay for nearly 30 years.

Squires will be the fifth candidate for the seat a-long-side Green candidate Teresa Doyle, NDP candidate Billy Cann, and Conservative candidate Julis Patkai.

“I am running for election because I found I could not vote for any of the candidates, but I was impressed when the Christian Heritage Party president David Bylsma came to P.E.I. and talked about their platform. I decided I wanted to run on that platform,” said Squires

The party policies are aimed at bringing biblical values and “historical freedoms” back into Canadian law.

“I think we are losing the value of human life when you look at the policies we have in place for marriage and conception until natural death,” she said.

“We want to get back to traditional marriage and life until natural death. We haven’t been successful so far, but we are faithful.”

Squires has focused on three main issues: abortion, euthanasia and same-sex marriage.

She has been working closely with the pro-life movement on P.E.I. and is focused on rehashing these issues if elected, Squires said.

“These immoralities are entrenched in our laws and I think we need to bring traditional marriage and families back into the main focus. Christians have been thrown in prison for fighting for these ideals,” said Squires.

Squires did not explain how she might repeal Canadian laws if elected, but she would advocate for funding to be put into women’s health care, post-natal care, and hospice care if she made it to Ottawa, she said.

“I’m still in the drafting process for these policy changes, but I also want to tackle student debt, seeing as how I still have mine, and more funding for new families,” she said.

“We need to support families and allow women to stay at home and be the primary caregivers again. We need to get back to core values.”

The CHP has candidates running in Alberta, British Colombia, Ontario, Quebec and Manitoba.

“We aren’t going away and we will keep putting pressure on the Canadian government to take care of these important issues,” said Squires.

“I don’t expect to win, but I wouldn’t be surprised if I did because God works that way. He needs six days plus one to get things done.”

