‘May’ Day in Charlottetown – Federal Green Party leader joins P.E.I. campaign

P.E.I. Green Party leader Peter Bevan-Baker speaks to a room of supporters at St. Paul’s Church in Charlottetown May 1. Maggie Muttart photo
P.E.I. Green Party leader Peter Bevan-Baker speaks to a room of supporters at St. Paul’s Church in Charlottetown May 1. Maggie Muttart photo

By Maggie Muttart
May 1, 2015
To the tune of The Saints Go Marching In, Elizabeth May marched into a room of about 130 Green Party supporters at St. Paul’s Church in Charlottetown, followed by Peter Bevan-Baker playing along on his saxophone.
May, an MP and leader of the federal Green Party, visited Charlottetown today to rally support for the Green Party of P.E.I. heading into Monday’s election.
Bevan-Baker, running in District 17, welcomed everyone.
“It’s been an absolutely extraordinary month, and without a doubt the most thrilling thing I have ever done; and I’ve done a few thrilling things in my time.
“And no matter what the outcome on Monday, we are still victorious. The political landscape on Prince Edward Island will be changed forever on Monday.”
Bevan-Baker said it takes a lot of courage to run for a third party, especially in such a small province.
“I am asking Islanders to match the courage of all of the fine people sitting in the front row here, who have shown the bravery to put their names forward.”

Federal Green Party leader Elizabeth May and P.E.I. Green Party leader Peter Bevan-Baker join hands during a rally in Charlottetown May 1. Maggie Muttart photo
Federal Green Party leader Elizabeth May and P.E.I. Green Party leader Peter Bevan-Baker join hands during a rally in Charlottetown May 1. Maggie Muttart photo

May said she felt blessed to visit P.E.I. again, and to be welcomed so warmly by Islanders and the Green Party candidates.
“I have to thank you all for being here. I know you’re part of a substantial movement on Prince Edward Island for honesty, and integrity, and politics, and for bringing democracy back to the people.”
May stressed that each and every vote has power, and when you cast a ballot, you truly are making a change.
“What’s really important is to breathe democracy back into Canada again, and to have people believe that their MLAs actually work, for them.”
Change truly can happen, said May, and it can happen on P.E.I.
“You will not just be helping the Green Party of Prince Edward Island, you’ll be inspiring people across Canada to believe that change is possible.”
Derrick Biso, Green candidate for District 13, said he was overjoyed to have May on P.E.I. to help support their team.
“Growing up I always had an interest in politics, so now to have the Elizabeth May here and to be running in the election is an absolute dream come true.”
Biso said no matter what happens in the election, he is proud of himself and his fellow candidates.
“Like Peter said, it takes a lot of courage to run for a third party, and I’m so lucky to have spent this time with some fantastic people.”

