Kameron Kielly hoping to impress in NHL draft year

By Ally Harris
Sept. 25, 2014

Kameron Kielly hopes his second year with the Charlottetown Islanders will be a great one.
The 17-year-old will be eligible for this year’s NHL entry draft, but he is trying to avoid getting caught up in the excitement of it all.
“It’s definitely in my mind but I try not to think about it,” he said. “I try not to worry about it too much.”
It’s been so far so good for the Charlottetown native, who scored four goals and six points through the first four games.
He’s trying to keep his focus on winning games as a team and not on his individual performance, he said.
“(I try to) just play my game and help this team win, and basically just do the same thing every night and see what happens.”
At 6-1 and 182 pounds, Kielly upped his training over the summer and hopes to see it reflect in his game.
“I pushed myself a little harder and worked harder. I’d like to get stronger, but that comes over time. I’d like to just round out my game.”
Kielly played his first season with the team last year, recording 10 goals and 21 assists for 31 points, after playing his rookie season with the Gatineau Olympiques.
This year’s team is one of the closest groups he has played on so far, he said.
“We’re actually a very close bunch for only being together for a short period of time and I just think that’s going to keep building moving forward.
“We became really close (over training camp). We went golfing, went to the movies, hung out a lot away from the rink, so that helps and we’re a pretty close bunch.”
That translates to success on the ice, he said.
“If you’re buddies and good friends you’ll do whatever for them out there. It doesn’t really matter who it is, you’re going to block that shot for them or do whatever it takes and sacrifice for your friend.”
Kielly and the Islanders looked to keep the start of the season strong as they took on Acadie-Bathurst Sept. 26.

