Back to normal – Assassins’ game wraps up at Glendenning Hall

By Brett Poirier
March 6, 2014

It was around noon in downtown Charlottetown when he saw his target.
Devin Rogers spotted the player he had to tag as part of the assassins game at Holland College over the past four weeks.
“There he was, about 100 feet away from me standing across the street, he knew I was after him,” said Rogers.
His target was Sean Scribner, a Holland College student with his lunch in hand on his way to visit a friend
“I took after him and he started sprinting.”
Scribner lost his paper-bag lunch and a shoe in the chase.
Rogers continued pursuing the one-shoe target, despite the heavy work boots he was wearing.
“I have to catch him, I have to catch him,” Rodgers thought during the pursuit.
After a few minutes, Scribner escaped and avoided capture that day.
The creeping and crawling that became a familiar sight at Glendenning Hall has come to an end.
Assassins, which swept through the residence, wrapped up late February with six winners splitting the cash prize.
The game was simple, but followed a specific set of rules to keep players in line. Everyone playing was given the name of another student, his or her target. From there, the players had to track each other down and clothespin them. Once the user was clipped, they were out.
Rogers, who was instrumental in organizing the game, was pleased with the way everything turned out.
“About 70 people entered to play and at first most of them took it very seriously.”
Some people altered their schedules, ran everywhere, wouldn’t open the door for anyone, a few even changed their Facebook name to avoid detection.
Alex Bethune, a paramedicine student at the college, refused to be a victim on Valentine’s Day.
“A guy called my room and told me to come to the lobby. I didn’t budge,” he said.
“It’s a prank, when I leave my room someone will clip me,” he thought.
Bethune received several more calls from the mysterious man with the package.
“I finally decided to go, just in case.”
It was a box of chocolates from his girlfriend in Toronto. False alarm.
One week later, someone clipped Bethune and he was out.
Rogers wasn’t surprised students were skeptical about receiving packages.
“That’s the best way to get caught, the killer knows exactly where you are. You can’t trust anyone.”
Ishmaiah Strachan found that out the hard way.
Strachan let a football teammate into his room. The teammate was his roommate’s killer.
Everything felt normal, the three of them were chatting and then he struck.
“My roommate went to the kitchen, the only place in the room you can be tagged,” said Strachan.
“My teammate quickly followed behind him, I didn’t know why at first, and then in the kitchen they collided. Next, my roommate was dead.”
Rogers loves to hear the personal experiences of other players.
“Everyone who played has a story, most end badly.”

