Illegal file-sharing website refuses to stay down

By James Kelly
March 4, 2014

A website which allows users to download and upload illegal files is back online.
The Pirate Bay was shut down in 2009 and has since come back online with different domain names and server locations.
The most recent domain name of The Pirate Bay is thepiratebay.se and it is hosted from Sweden.
Files can be downloaded from the internet at any time. In many cases, this is considered illegal.
A local man who downloads movies and music illegally, who asked his name not be used, said he feels completely safe downloading these files.
“Well, the police haven’t shown up at my door yet and I have downloaded at least 200 movies from The Pirate Bay. I don’t sell them, but I see no harm in downloading them for myself.”
Internet piracy falls under the Copyright Act of Canada. The act states any person is not able to sell or rent out product owned by others without the consent of the owner. They are not to possess any material for this purpose, either.
“I know downloading things for my own personal use is not completely ethical, but as long as it isn’t a criminal offense, I will keep doing it,” said the local man.
RCMP Sergeant Andrew Blackadar said the RCMP Federal Investigative Unit looks after all breaches of this type.
“Federally, it happens. Provincially the RCMP has not had to investigate such offences. We have investigated several attempted frauds where a company poses as a business which is fake.”
Blackadar is the media relations officer for the RCMP on Prince Edward Island. He has worked for the RCMP for over 30 years.
“The maximum jail sentence for breaching the Copyright Act is five years in jail and hefty fines. There is also a civil remedy in the act which means firms can sue people who are convicted. Most big companies do sue for breaches of the Copyright Act and large judgments can be levied against those who breach the act.”
The RCMP knows about The Pirate Bay, but it is not in its jurisdiction, Blackadar said.
“The Pirate Bay is currently hosted from a Swedish server. Nobody knows for how long, but the Swedish law enforcers will handle it as they please.”
Sarah Kember of Summerside, P.E.I., barely uses a computer, let alone downloads anything.
“I’ve never once downloaded music from the internet that was not paid for completely. I want to support artists and I know the best way to do that is to buy their music legally.”
Kember grew up without a computer and is not completely experienced with them. Downloading illegal files is against her morals, she said.
“It just doesn’t feel right, you know? I feel bad for both breaking the law, and not supporting the artists. I feel much better when I buy things.”

