Holland College faculty supports cancer victim

By James Kelly
Feb. 14, 2014

Faculty at Holland College organized a bake sale on Jan. 31 in support of a recently diagnosed cancer victim.
Eileen White worked as the administrative support for the Adult Education programs in Montague and Souris.
Catherine Fournier helped set up the bake sale. She knows White through work.
“She is always so nice to everyone.”
White is undergoing five-week treatment session rotations in Halifax, then she will have two weeks at home.
Fournier made fudge for the bake sale. In addition to the baked goods, there were preserves and hand-made items.
“Eileen, I want you to know the whole college supports you,” Fournier said.
The faculty at the college raised $875 for White during the bake sale. They have set up a Facebook page in support of White, as well.
Bobby Todd has had cancer twice in his life. He is only 18 years old.
When Todd was seven, he was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s lymphoma. This is a cancer that is most common among children.
“My doctor says the cancer may come back when I am around 30 years old, so I need to get checked a lot,” Todd said, “Though, just because my doctor says something doesn’t mean I will give up hope. I believe I can honestly get rid of it forever.”

