Students deal with suspended classes at MTA and UNB

By Mitchell Peters
Jan. 30, 2014

Mount Allison University swimmers Emily Byrne and Eric Lane are used to waking up early morning to work out.
But not this week.
Mount Allison suspended its classes.
A strike pushed swim practices to midday, which is great considering they are resting for an upcoming swim meet.
Byrne anticipates the strike will continue “for at least another week, and then get back to classes. It’s hard to know though. All the information from both sides has been vague for students and there’s a lot of rumors floating around,” she said.
Lane suspects the strike will go for a couple of weeks, hopefully no longer.
“Any longer would just get worse and worse. The midterms are going to pile up,” said Lane.
With an upcoming AUS swim meet, Lane said things will definitely not be easy.
“I don’t really know how negotiations are going except for the occasional rumor.”
Byrne said the strike has not taken much of a toll on her studies.
“As a fourth-year student the strike hasn’t affected my schedule that much.”
“I have lots of independent work, including my honours project. So I’ve got lots of work to do. It definitely has given me more free time though.”
Lane, a second-year student, said his schedule is all over the place at the moment.
“But it’s mostly because I have nothing to fill it with. Practice is getting hard because I stay up way later because I have no classes,” said Lane.
Third-year environmental studies student, Conor Van De Wetering says he predicts the strike lasts four weeks.
“I’m not worried, I just hope the teacher’s get what they deserve,” said Van De Wetering.“I’m just praying school doesn’t come on, still got a few labs due.”
Pat Sherwood plans to graduate this year. Like many students in their final year, he is anxious.
“It has severely affected my daily schedule as I no longer have order to my day. Without classes, labs and other academic assignments, it is tough to stay focused on schoolwork,” said Sherwood.
“I anticipate that the strike will last through until the end of next week, possibly into a third. All depends on negotiations.”
Bradley Joseph is also in his final year at the school.
“Since the strike, my schedule hasn’t really been affected since we have no classes to attend. But my Learning will definitely be affected with all this free time. Not to mention all the distractions,” said Joseph
“My main concerns would be weather or not we will be able to finish the semester regardless of the strike. I anticipate that both parties will come to an agreement maybe in the next couple weeks,” he said, knocking on wood.
“If nothing’s done, the strike can affect everyone’s semester even the graduating class.”
Meanwhile, UNB student Jacqueline Murchison faced the reality of losing her semester as the she wrapped up her third week of suspended classes.
“I’m supposed to be finishing my undergrad this summer after inner session,” said Murchison. Shortly before a deal was reached and a vote set.
She was informed her school might be making a decision on Feb. 3.
“I work at the student bar, to afford life, and since the strike a lot of students have gone home, so we’ve been losing business.”
“Profs might be sour about their 150k a year salary, but now students can’t even afford to sustain themselves while the strike runs out.”
Murchison has chosen to deal with this in a different way. In 14 days she will arrive at her new home in California. She will finish next year instead. Some of her friends are doing the same; one has already left for Europe.
“No one wants to sit around and wait.”

