Royals coming in May…that’s a big yawn for some

By Lillian Jazlyn MacLeod
Jan. 24, 2014

Most students from Holland College who were surveyed have negative to no thoughts on the news of Prince Charles and Camilla coming to Prince Edward Island in May.
Gov. Gen. David Johnston announced last Thursday in Ottawa the arrival of the Prince of Wales and the Duchess of Cornwall, Prince Charles and Camilla.
They will be visiting Manitoba, Nova Scotia and P.E.I. during the month of May 2014.
Students, such as Emma Billings, 18, thought nothing of it when she heard the news.
“It’s cool, I guess. I’m not really into the royal family. I didn’t watch any of that on TV. It’d be nice to have someone famous come.”
Kristy Hutchinson, 18, said she would be more excited if Will and Kate came back to visit the Island.
“I’m not really a big fan of Camilla. I don’t know much about them.”
Prince William and wife Kate visited P.E.I. July 2011. People visited and gathered trying to catch a glimpse of the royal couple.
Amber Beckwith, 18, doesn’t understand why the royals would want to come to P.E.I.
“I guess it’s kind of cool, in a way, it’s an honour. I don’t know much about the whole royal thing. I’m sure people who are really into that stuff are excited about it.”
Michael Burtram, 25, says it’s a waste.
Truthfully, I don’t really care for the royal family. I don’t think taxpayers should be paying for them to come visit.”

